Call us at 1-800-367-4708


At the Society of American Florists (SAF) 130th annual convention, held in Marco Island, Fla., Aug. 13-16, the organization recognized a number of our industry’s brightest stars with its annual awards and inductions.



• Floriculture Hall of Fame
The floral industry’s greatest honor was bestowed on Ken Tagawa, chairman of Tagawa Inc. in Brighton, Colo.
• Paul Ecke Jr. Award
David Armellini, president and CEO of Armellini Express Lines, Inc. in Palm City, Fla., received the 2014 SAF Paul Ecke Jr. Award in recognition of his exemplary devotion to profession, industry and community.
• Alex Laurie Award
John M. Dole, Ph.D., head of the Department of Horticultural Science at North Carolina State University, was honored for his contributions to floriculture research and education.
• Gold Medal Award
David G. Clark, Ph.D., a professor in the University of Florida’s Department of Environmental Horticulture, is the 2014 recipient of the SAF’s Gold Medal Award in recognition of his groundbreaking research “improving the quality, color and variety of Coleus and for generating consumer enthusiasm for the plant.”
• Tommy Bright Award
Recognizing lifetime achievement in floral presentation and education, this award was presented to Joyce Mason-Monheim, AAF, AIFD, PFCI, AzMF, Designer Destination, Tucson, Ariz.
• Sylvia Cup
Jacob McCall, AIFD, AAF, FSMD, design director at The Elite Flower in Miami, Fla., won the grand prize in the 47th Annual Sylvia Cup Design Competition. Derek Woodruff, AIFD, PFCI, CF, owner of The Floral Underground and Fleur Couture Cabaret in Traverse City, Mich., was first runner-up, and Jeanne Ha, AIFD, owner of Park Florist in Takoma Park, Md., was second runner-up.
• Marketer of the Year Award
California’s Sun Valley Floral Farms was named SAF’s 2014 Marketer of the Year in recognition of its marketing efforts to increase awareness of International Women’s Day (always March 8) and help florists turn it into another flower-giving holiday. Lane DeVries, Sun Valley president and CEO, accepted the award.

• Century Award
Two floral-industry businesses and one industry trade association received SAF’s 2014 Century Award, presented to organizations that have been in business for 100 years or more:
George Didden Greenhouses, Inc.
Hatfield, Pa.

C.J. Sanderson & Son Florist
Woodbury, N.J.

Texas State Florists’ Association
Austin, Texas

 • American Academy of Floriculture (AAF)
SAF’s American Academy of Floriculture inducted seven new members for 2014:

Rochette “Rochie” Webb Allen, AAF
Rochette’s Florist LLC
Farmville, Va.
Dana Cook, AAF
Julia’s Florist
Wilmington, N.C.
Christie Ann Cothrun, AAF, AzMF
Arizona State Florists Association
Phoenix, Ariz.
Josh Glass, AAF
Peoples Flower Shops
Albuquerque, N.M.

Joyce Mason-Monheim, AAF, AIFD, CFD, PFCI, AzMF
Designer Destination
Tucson, Ariz.

Carlos Manuel Uribe, AAF
Flores El Capiro S.A.
Medellín, Colombia
Eileen Looby Weber, AAF
Lake Forest Flowers & Greenhouses
Lake Forest, Ill.

• Professional Floral Communicators - International (PFCI)
The industry’s premier speakers bureau added four new professionals to its roster in 2014:

Sharon Sabin Ivey, AIFD, PFCI, GMF
Southeast Floral Design Center
Bishop, Ga.
Derrick P. Myers, CPA, CFP, PFCI
Crockett, Myers & Assoc., Inc.
Glen Burnie, Md.
Gary Tharnish, PFCI
Burton Tyrrell's Flowers, Inc.
Lincoln, Neb.
Derek C. Woodruff, AIFD, PFCI, CF
Derek LLC
Traverse City, Mich.
• Outstanding Varieties Competition
Judges selected the ‘Blushing Parasol’ Spray Rose, exhibited by Eufloria Flowers, as this year’s “Best in Show.”

The following flowers took top place in their respective categories:

“Best in Class” Rose
Multiflora International

“Best in Class” Garden Rose
Green Valley Floral

“Best in Class” Spray Rose
‘Blushing Parasol’
Eufloria Flowers

“Best in Class” Chrysanthemum
Anastasia Sunny
Multiflora International

“Best in Class” Cut Bulb
Amarossi’ Oriental Trumpet (OT) lily
Oregon Flowers, Inc.

“Best in Class” Gerbera
Green Valley Floral

“Best in Class” Alstroemeria
Golden Flowers

“Best in Class” Dianthus
‘Star Cherry’
Flores Funza

“Best in Class” Other Cut Flower
Scarlet Banksia
Wafex USA

“Best in Class” Decorative Foliage
Leucadendron ‘Cream Delight’
Resendiz Brothers Protea Growers

“Best in Class” Potted Flowering Plant
Miniature Pot Rose ‘Pretty PARTY’
Poulsen Roser A/S



 Copyright 2018
WildFlower Media Inc.