Call us at 1-800-367-4708


The American Floral Endowment (AFE) has announced new officers and trustees.

New Officers

Paul Bachman of Bachman’s Inc. in Minneapolis, Minn., began his term as chairman of the Endowment during AFE’s annual fundraising dinner on Sept. 20 in Palm Beach, Fla.

A veteran of the industry, Mr. Bachman began working in the family business when he was 13. He received the Society of American Florists’ (SAF) Marketer of the Year Award in 2011 and is a past chairman of the American Floral Marketing Council, a past chairman of the National PromoFlor Marketing Council, a past director of SAF and a past president of the Minnesota State Florists Association.

Mr. Bachman has served on the AFE Board of Trustees since 2004. He will serve two years as AFE’s chairman.

“The Endowment will be in great hands with Paul as chairman," remarks outgoing AFE Chairman Tom Butler of Teleflora. “Paul's extensive knowledge of the floriculture industry as well as his passion for marketing will be valuable in helping AFE to be successful in continuing to provide funding for research and scholarships.”

Ken Altman of Altman Plants in Vista, Calif., was named AFE treasurer/secretary and will serve in this capacity for three years. Mr. Altman also serves on the Executive Board of the San Diego Farm Bureau and is a member of the California Association of Nurserymen and the Garden Centers’ Nursery Growers Leadership Board.

Mr. Altman is also managing director and founder of the Center for Applied Horticultural Research, a nonprofit organization created to help the industry solve relevant questions.

Tom Butler of Teleflora will remain on the board, serving as past chairman.

The remaining Executive Committee members include Charles Kremp of Kremp Florist, Dave Niklas of Clackamas Greenhouses and Dwight Larimer of Design Master Color Tool.

New Trustees

Jim Daly, vice president of Floralife, Inc., Global Operations and Corporate Research, has worked in the floriculture industry for 26 years. He has also served on the SAF Government Relations Committee and Wholesalers Council.
Eric Levy, owner of Hillcrest Gardens, Inc. has been in the industry for 22 years. He previously served on the SAF Wholesalers Council and Floral Management Advisory Committee.
He is also a board member at AA Importing, a floral wholesale buying group in Ohio; has served on the board of International Floral Distributors (IFD); and was a member of the Wholesale Florist & Florist Supplier Association’s (WF&FSA) Young Executive Board.
Ken Young, owner of Phoenix Flower Shopshas 32 years of experience in the floriculture industry. He previously served on the Member Services, Technology and Floral Management Committees of SAF, as well as on the FTD President’s Advisory Board, the Teleflora RTI Advisory Board, FTD Association and Arizona State Florists Association.

Four members of the AFE Board of Trustees completed their terms: Past Chairman Red Kennicott of Kennicott Brothers, former Secretary/Treasurer Jim Phillip of Phillip’s Flowers, Trustee Lane DeVries of The Sun Valley Group and Trustee Bob Wilkins of the Delaware Valley Floral Group.

A complete list of AFE officers and trustees can be found at


Source: American Floral Endowment

 Copyright 2018
WildFlower Media Inc.